Amazing Affirmation

“Hi James. I was a student at Orme at the very first fine arts festival. There, you recited a poem that I have been searching for, for years, titled something like “When I Die.” Can I find it in one of your collections?

Yes, it had an impact on my young and now much older mind. Gillies.”

Second email:

“I participated in two FAFs. One year was doing wood block printing with Dot, the other forging with one of the ranch hands. I vividly remember you reading your poem at the FAF closing gathering in the Horsecollar theater, and I remember the hush in the crowd as you did. Your hair was darker then.”

I share these emails, so all of you who write and sing your words, know, believe in your heart and soul, your voice and words do matter. We do inspire and  have impact on others, and this is important. Poetry, spoken or in sung words, is very important. So, write on. Sing on.

Yes, I found the poem in an old floppy and converted it to a word.doc, and sent it to Gillies. Now I send many hugs to Neil Gillies for giving me such powerful affirmation. In a day or so, to honor Gillies, I will post When I Die  on this Plumlover blog.

And all of you who appreciate the words and songs of creative people in your life, take time to stop and tell them how much their work means to you.  We all need a little hug once in a while — hugs help us continue with the lonely work of writing, and then going public with our voice.  Cheers to all.

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

