To My Fellow Writers & Readers

To my  fellow writers and readers,

January 6, 2016 The Epiphany — A Day of Discovery

Today, January 6, the Italian day of Little Christmas when La Befana, the good witch, puts oranges and nuts and a toy in the childrens’ shoes left outside the door. Today, here in Colorado Springs, as the winter sky changed from black-gray to rising red light puffing up the eastern clouds — as I looked out at that sky, my thoughts at 6 AM, turned me to mulling over this letter and what New Year greeting to write.

My thoughts turned to my mission for and with writers on the journey. Given the gift of my talent and teaching resources, is my work a payback responsibility?  My opportunities to share the power of words, nudging, inspiring if you will, others to engage in their creativity and grow their talent, be it in writing or some other endeavor, is not a responsibility, rather, the opportunity to share my talent and resources with others is a privilege. Indeed, a rich and enriching privilege.

As I read greetings cards from men in our Sunfire Writers Workshop in a Colorado prison, their expression of gratitude for the opportunity the workshop has given them to discover (an epiphany) their talent and how the magic of writing gives them a chance to explore who they are beyond the label of “felon,” I receive again the epiphany, that “ah-ha” moment. Our role as poets, writers, singers, troubadours of the word, is far more important than we know, to those we reach.

So, my fellow wordsmiths, and you too my fellow readers who may not yet have picked up the pen, continue to reach out, to share your work, teach (teaching is discovery) and enjoy the rich privilege and grace we receive when we engage in the opportunities to share our passion, and love, for the magic of words.

I am grateful to all who have mentored me, inspired me, and worked with me in the conversation called poetry. May La Befana fill your shoes and pens with the power and grace to continue the journey of writing and sharing.

Happy New Year!   Write On!
Jim

 

 

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

