Man Up

With a cup of hot coffee and Saturday morning leisure
I opened the Jan. 6 issue of the New Yorker, read Philip Levine’s “poem” that is really a short short story short memoir, totally prose, but in lines and stanzas, so, someone at the New Yorker, I guess because it was from “the” Philip Levine, accepted it and put it in as the centerfold poetry piece. Grousing at this, asking “where is the poetry?” I turned to the inside back cover of the New Yorker and there, in 75 point type, the blaring words, MAN UP. and the image of a pocket knife, a rollerball pen, and a pair of cufflinks. The copy with the ad reads, word for word:
“No one needs to tie your ties, mix your
drinks, or close your deals.
You know how to handle yourself.
And everything about you speaks to that.
Show the world what you’ve got
. . .and wear it well.”

So I thought, I’ve got the broken bladed pocket knife I found in my (deceased) Dad’s tools. I write with a fountain pen that my grandmother, Pasqualina Caputo, gave as a high school graduation present to my mother in 1934, and I still wear the pair of stainless steel cufflinks that my cousin Marlene Zullo gave to me when, as the altar boy, I served her wedding ceremony and Mass in 1957. So, now that I have these three iconic symbols of manhood, I can MAN UP.

But in reality, at age 70, I wake up every morning and ask myself, since I never did Man Up!, how in the hell did I get here? In reality, I walk outside to sweep snow off the car, come in, then I write my Man UP!

Flutter down snowflakes
Heaven’s communion wafers.
I’ll lie down, face up.

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Man Up

  1. Helen Hudson says:

    Ah! “Lie down. Face up.” that’s what they had us do in hot yoga today…..and I felt JUST like a communion wafer. Blissful poetry, my friend. Just bliss.

Leave a Reply

