PRE-OPERATION

Pre-Op Journaling: Today, Oct. 16, 2013, I go back into surgery for another spinal operation.

Autumn is hanging by the threads of orange and red leaves, golden pumpkins on the vine, life in its turn, reminding us that spring’s rewind begins now; plants, trees, give their all and surrender to hibernation or death, rest, quiet and peaceful. No tears here.
Spinal operation today, Oct. 16. Dangerous. I fear not death so much than if I died while under anesthetics I’d never have the opportunity to tell all of you I love how much I love you and how you give me life and inspiration every day. Many times I have said that most important in my life are three constants: whom I am with, what I do and where I live. When I have these three in harmony and balance, then life is full and beautiful.

Number one: Who I am with. Myself, family, friends, loved ones, work associates, higher power, etc.

When I was in the hospital June 20-25, after I had some semblance of consciousness after ten hours of general anesthesia, I could not wait, or was so anxious for Mary to touch me. Touch me, affirm that I was real and connected to mankind in the here and now and when she touched me, took my hand I felt like my hand dipped into a stream connected to every stream, river, all the oceans of our humanity.

And Mary’s touch felt so grounding, so blessed, so full of life and grace that I mention this now to remind myself and you, dearest readers, in this pre-op statement, so that today, you too will reach out, touch, hug, connect body to body, spirit to spirit, in a heart to heart touching conversation. In Rilke’s poem on Autumn, the leaves are falling and are we not in the hand holding up all of us? To all of you who have touched me, connected me to you and all of humanity, thank you. With hugs and love. Jim. Amen

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to PRE-OPERATION

  1. jhwriter says:

    Dear friend, here’s hoping/knowing that all will go well. It pains me to think of you in this situation, but we’re all in it in one way or another. Be well, be safe. We need you!

  2. Helen Hudson says:

    I am sad I didn’t know this before–if only to type you a warm, touching word or two–so here it is–a BIG hug full of the fallen leaves I stepped through while walking the dog tonight…a kiss on your cheek with lips warm from my spicy, tomato soup……and THAT should warm your heart. xo:)

  3. Darling, You were touched by the firm, curative hands of your doctor, and now you are cared for by such giving, wonderful nurses.  I look forward to loving caresses, and sweet smiles to and from you. So grateful, and glad you are going to be well! Love, Mary

Leave a Reply

