Surgical Silence

Dear Friends and Family, I have been silent here for many days because
several health issues have kept me distracted, or not wanting to
participate in the whining and self-centeredness the pain advocates;

So, tomorrow morning at 5:30 AM, June 20, Mary will drive me to Penrose Hospital
and I will go into pre-op and at 7:30 two of the finest neurosurgeons will
open my lower back and repair the wires and bones that, once repaired,
will allow me to walk hand in hand with Mary, and hopefully to
also stand with you all some day to recite poems and celebrate
new life with a strong back.

I will be in the hospital for four days and if they let me,
I’ll have my computer and may be able to write poems of celebration.
Cheers to all my friends, as I said to the men in my prison writing workshop,
I’ve had a good life and you have helped to make it better.

With lots of loving thoughts to all. Cheers. Jim

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surgical Silence

  1. Helen Hudson says:

    My Dear Jim!! I know they will do with your wires and bones what you have done with words and phrases all these years!1 Take courage! Be strong. . .and soft. . . and we shall wait for those poems. Your birds and tomatoes will wait on the vine for your return. . .and so will we!!! LOVE

  2. Rosemerry says:

    Oh dear Jim, sweet friend, I wish grace to you and to Mary. Many hugs to you both, the very softest ones that couldn’t hurt your back. Looking forward to your new poems …

  3. We all have your back, dear poet! May your recovery be swift and full of poems…

Leave a Reply

