Pocket Lint & Stuff

Emptying My Pants Pockets for Monday’s Wash

1. My worn scuffed leather wallet with sand falling from the crease.

2. One white garlic bulb with a dried tan stem, which I dug up
when digging a hole to transplant the two baby zucchini starts
my daughter, Laura, gave to me on Saturday after
we muddied and taped-up the drywall seams for her new office.

3. Three shiny quarters, one nickel, and one dime.

4. One 2.5 inch lag screw which I showed to a clerk at Home Depot, to find 8 more, to screw shelf brackets into Jim Jr’s new closet.

5. The red-handled pruning clippers, I was using them last evening to trim the bottom suckers and vine-starts off the Baca Noir grapevines, which I started from pruned-off cane sticks last year, so I can train the vines to grow up tall to reach the new eight-foot high arbor I will build. (I make wine with Baca Noir grapes.)

6. About five feet of white twine, left over, from what I used last evening to tie up the vines and also to tie up the tomato plants, in the nearby garden — plants I started from seeds in March. Laura said Grandma, my mother, told her to use panty hose to tie up the vines.

7. One crumpled  dollar bill from change given to me at Home Depot when I returned excess sprinkler system parts. Did I mention that I started my day yesterday by digging up two sprinkler heads and installing new ones, after getting more parts at Home Depot?

8. My cell phone, smeared with dirt.

9. Keys to the South House, our house next door to the south, which we use for processing books etc. Also as a guest house. Yes, you are welcome. I needed the keys to go in at 5 pm to get a cold can of green tea from the fridge.

10. My yellow and brown pocket knife, used to cut lengths of twine for tying up vines.

11. One purple felt tipped pen, on Saturday I used it to mark the steps before I drilled four-inch holes in the concrete to install a railing on the steps down to the sanctuary garden.

12. One receipt from King Soopers grocery store, where I bought fresh corn and other “Stuff” for dinner. And a bag of potato chips for Mary.

13. One wrinkled red handkerchief, that smells of sweat.

14. Three steel washers, which I thought I might need for backing with the lag screws for Jim Jr’s closet shelf brackets.

15. That wraps it up for now. I can hear the pants tumbling in the dryer. (Oh, and pocket lint).

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

