Another Idea

When an idea rolls around in my head and then drops down into my voice box, I seem to need to write it out to get it out, so here is a continuation of what started yesterday with the “You have no idea” theme. I am not sure where this will go, or if I will change it to “I have no idea.” Right now, I prefer the more universal, “You have no idea,” with the “You” being the poet talking to him/her self.

Today’s journal Notes

You have no idea what I have been thru
said the pork chop to the pig.

No idea how many nights I worried
that I’ll never get to see you
said the tulip blossoms

You have no idea who taught me how
to build a nest, lay eggs, raise my babies,
said the robin.

You have no idea how much fire is in this log.

How many seeds are seeded inside this tomato seed.

You have no idea how many mysteries will unfold
from the skin of your fingertips when you pick up
a pen or touch the keyboard to write .

No idea how long it took the peach to learn how to
surrender to your teeth.

Sunlight travel to your kitchen counter top.

Or if the person who wove the Persian rug
under your feet, ate figs or is alive.

No idea where you will be at 3 pm today.

Will a fish bone get caught in your throat tonight?

I have no idea.

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Idea

  1. You have no idea how much your words
    hit chords like music in my head
    all these miles away
    as just now I struggle with my
    children’s poor choices–
    thinking to myself:
    you have no idea
    no clue
    that this sneaker WILL eventually make you tumble
    if you do not tie the lace.

  2. Ciletti says:

    Helen, always happy to hear your feedback. If there is a god, we parents know how he/she feels in raising children, huh. I think I could write 20 “You have no idea” lines every day — especially for my 40 year old son. Cheers. Jim

  3. Rosemerry says:

    I love this “You have no idea” idea. And how in the telling of it, the reader gets the idea. Thinking I might try a you have no idea poem.

Leave a Reply

