Bring The Children to Me

Bring the Children to Me
(after giving a poetry workshop
to third and fourth grade children)

Chattering and giggling,
they jostled into the library,
sat before me and when I saw
their bright faces and smiles

I went to the board and said
seeing your beautiful faces
you have inspired me to write
a quick verse, something like this:

“As the children take their places
I see the many faces
of boys and girls of many races
and for them I’ll run my paces
to share my love of poetry’s graces.”

And they clap for me and I turn
and tell them, you have come to
see the master poet, but I am
not the Master and You are the poets.

So we write silly Loons like:
Think of me as
a bright green frog swimming
in your tomato soup.

Think of me as a
ballerina twirling
on a taxi cab.

And they all giggle and enjoy
playing with words and this leads
to my telling them that “poetry is
like a string,” and I pretend to pull

a string from my heart, “a string that
we connect from our heart to other
hearts so we all can share the
thoughts and experiences

of how we live feelingly in
our world and grow to understand
the connections we have from the
heart with all of mankind.”

Soon the time is up and
they all clamor to recite
their Loon to me and I say,
“Rise up.” And they rise up,

and I say, on 3,
everyone at once recite your Loon,
and I count down to 2 then 2 & 1/2,
then 2 & 3/4 and they giggle

I want to sprinkle holy water
on them all; I say 3 and
they all shout their Loon poem and
bless me with their angelic voices.

About Ciletti

Jim Ciletti, an award winning poet, filmmaker, and author, is the 2010-2012, Poet Laureate of the Pikes Peak region, and for 41 years, poet-in-residence for the Orme School Fine Arts Festival. Jim gives many workshops on the writing and performance of poetry, and makes poetry house calls to create personal poetry events. Ciletti loves everything Italian, including cooking for family and friends, and loves to plant garlic, make homemade wine, and eating peaches and plums. "Everyday is Christmas, but you don't always get everything you ask for. Sometimes more. Poetry celebrates life."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bring The Children to Me

  1. ah! You have tugged at my heart with your poet’s string sharing this.

Leave a Reply

